We're in Las Vegas and I put the whole nest egg on black 24. Lost my ass & my husband. So it was worth it. HA!
OK, I'm kidding. We're not in that Las Vegas. We're in New Mexico-o-o. Miles the Cat didn't do as well today; I think he was car sick, but he didn't hurl. I let him loose in the truck and he settled down after a bit.
We should make La Veta in 4 hours tomorrow, which is great since this 9 hour a day stuff is wearing and my allergies are out of control. Buy stock in Kleenex now!!!
That's all I got for now. Pretty boring. I'll improve with sleep. lvoe, k
Monday, May 4, 2009
Sunday, May 3, 2009
Quickie
Tonight we find ourselves in Seligman, AZ. along Route 66. It was a 9 hour drive with 2 cats and a dog. Tricia & Brian adopted the bird, therefore we're not so Noah's Ark-ish. Cats did better than I could have ever imagined and there were no drugs involved (and if the vet had prescribed sedatives, you can bet I wouldn't have wasted them on the animals!!).
I'm too freakin' tired to post pics; didn't get to bed until after 2 am last night and got up to wake the roosters....i hate packing.
Soooooo......check in for the latest. And Happy BDay to Becky tomorrow! Go Dodgers & Lakers & Nuggets & Rockies!!! I'm having a problem with duality.
That's all I got for now. Lvoe, k
I'm too freakin' tired to post pics; didn't get to bed until after 2 am last night and got up to wake the roosters....i hate packing.
Soooooo......check in for the latest. And Happy BDay to Becky tomorrow! Go Dodgers & Lakers & Nuggets & Rockies!!! I'm having a problem with duality.
That's all I got for now. Lvoe, k
Sunday, January 25, 2009
A few days before we left, we had an honest to Buddha cattle drive through the front yard - complete with dogs and doggies and cowboys doing real cowboy hootin' and hollerin'!
It was pretty exciting!
As we made our way home from La Veta to Carp, we had a blowout on the RV on I25 just south of the armpit of Raton, N.M. - about an hour out from La Veta. OnStar was useless. They were going to send someone from Albuquerque, which is at least 2+ hours away. It was a little nerve racking as the traffic passed and we we're parked on the shoulder of the highway. The speed limit is 75 mph and you just KNOW people are going the limit...NOT! I'm in the truck calling for assistance hoping nobody will be texting as they pass...
YIPPIE-KI-O-KI-AYE!!
Get a-long little Homans!
that's all i got for now. lvoe, k
Thursday, January 22, 2009
I'm Baaa-ack......
My friend emailed me the pictures of Halloween in La Veta. Let's see if I can remember back that far. There was a Halloween party at the La Veta Inn. This is me dressed as a cloud...notice the spray bottle strategically held in the non-beer holding hand (the white thing). People would ask what I was and I'd say "cloudy with a chance of sprinkles" then let 'em have a blast in the face! Most people had a sense of humor...most people...
Then you have Doug and Lisa dressed as "Boo-Bees"; quite creative! Yes, that's Andy with a beard in the background.

Andy went as Andy and wasn't going to stay long.
Then he got a load of Wayne and asked him to dance. He stayed 'til the very end. He wanted to walk him home....But then he saw CJ and wanted to find out if her udders were real....
that's all i got for now. lvoe, k
Friday, November 7, 2008
Even Shorter Update
Just returned from the La Veta Inn for "happy hour". They're doing winter hours with a winter menu; translation: only locals and it's slow. But Friday night is still holding steady with the "gang". No shortage of laughter and good stories.
Andy and I have been working on the computer doing autocad stuff in order to pay for our La Veta hobby, so progress on the house is a little slow at this time. But we're putting in a temporary shower and have hot water and a stove so we can come back in Dec. or Jan. and be able to live in the house.
What can I say? La Veta has captured our souls for the time being. A friend here says, "You don't find La Veta; La Veta finds you." I have to agree. There are too many "ooooo-eeeee-oooo" things that happen here to be just coincidence (sp).
Anyhoo....that's all I got for now.
lvoe, k
Andy and I have been working on the computer doing autocad stuff in order to pay for our La Veta hobby, so progress on the house is a little slow at this time. But we're putting in a temporary shower and have hot water and a stove so we can come back in Dec. or Jan. and be able to live in the house.
What can I say? La Veta has captured our souls for the time being. A friend here says, "You don't find La Veta; La Veta finds you." I have to agree. There are too many "ooooo-eeeee-oooo" things that happen here to be just coincidence (sp).
Anyhoo....that's all I got for now.
lvoe, k
Thursday, November 6, 2008
Really Short Update
No pics at this time since I shorted out my laptop by spilling (what else) beer on the keyboard. So I'm on Andy's laptop again and will try pictures at a later time.
Our ETA for Carp is Monday, Nov 24. We tried to work it so the kids could come here for Thanksgiving, but best laid plans...
Halloween in La Veta was a blast! Wish I could post photos! The La Veta Inn had a party and I was an interactive "cloudy with a chance of showers/snow" with a spray bottle and confetti. Use your imagination. Andy went as "Andy", but at least he went. He had plans to leave early, but stayed the entire time. My little social butterfly!!
Low tonight is 9 degrees.
That's all I got for now. Lvoe, k
Our ETA for Carp is Monday, Nov 24. We tried to work it so the kids could come here for Thanksgiving, but best laid plans...
Halloween in La Veta was a blast! Wish I could post photos! The La Veta Inn had a party and I was an interactive "cloudy with a chance of showers/snow" with a spray bottle and confetti. Use your imagination. Andy went as "Andy", but at least he went. He had plans to leave early, but stayed the entire time. My little social butterfly!!
Low tonight is 9 degrees.
That's all I got for now. Lvoe, k
Thursday, October 16, 2008
We've Been Here 5 Months!!
This pic was taken as I was flying to California at the end of September. The
We had about 2" of snow last Tuesday.
The
And, of course, Snow Dog.
We had our first fire in our fireplace, drank red wine, then got so wound up we went to the local pub for beer and burgers.
I went for a walk in the evening. Birdman Bob lives about 3 houses down from us. His hobby is birds of prey. Birdman was wounded in Viet Nam and had part of his head shot off. As a result, he has seizures.
Homecoming is a big deal in La Veta. The kids take a whole week and decorate floats for their class and parade down Main Street. Not unlike the 4th of July parade.
Things at the house are going great! We've been waiting on one window and it's now installed. This is me prepping for the window. Such the hambone.
The siding is going on and it makes all the difference in the world. The house looks like a real house. Not some "almost there" model. Hard to explain.
This is Glory, one of 2 Golden Retrievers that ol' Bobby's family owns. She is a beautiful dog. This photo is for Thuy.
Andy was having "one of those days" and cut through the cord of his saw... i left and went cruising with my dog.
After the day is done...
Andy soaks his sore fingers and ices his sore heal;
i drink.
Our estimated time of departure is November 10th which puts us in Carp on Nov. 12. But depending on the weather, could change without notice. The RV isn't the most desirable place to spend a below 0 winter and we're trying to set up a temporary camp in the house to be able to return in January or sooner. Stay tuned.
That's all i got for now. lvoe, k
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

